All candidates were asked to take the bus on Sunday, Sept 14 or 28 and meet FST members across the street from the bus terminal at 1:30pm.

(Yes, we chose a Sunday on purpose!) Sunday service doesn’t work for many Sudburians who work, shop, go to church, or visit family and friends. Routes are not the same as during the week and service is infrequent. Friends of Sudbury Transit has made improving Sunday service one of our top priorities for change.

36% of candidates (25/70) completed the challenge.
84% of those candidates (22/25) completed a short survey afterwards. The results are posted here.

Candidates who completed the challenge:

Mayoral Candidates
Jean-Raymond Audet
Brian Bigger
Jeff Huska
Richard Majkot
Dan Melanson
Ed Pokonzie

Ward 1
Matt Alexander
Mathieu Labonté – missed bus and arrived after 2:15pm

Ward 2

Ward 3
Matt Belanger

Ward 4

Ward 5
Richard Larcher
John Lundrigan
Kent MacKeill

Ward 6
Fernand Bidal
René Lapierre

Ward 7
Gordon Drysdale
Mike Jakubo

Ward 8
Stefano Presenza

Ward 9
Deb McIntosh
Paul Stopciati

Ward 10
John Antonioni
Fern Cormier
Hannu Piironen
Steve Ripley

Ward 11
Mike Bleskie
Chris Nerpin

Ward 12

Those who did not complete the challenge and reasons, if any.

Jeanne Brohart – Father ill
Ron Dupuis – another commitment
John Rodriguez
David Popescu – Religious reasons

Ward 1
Denis Ferron
Mark Signoretti
Paul Soucie
Chris Spry
Thomas Trainor
Sidney Shapiro

Ward 2
Jacques Barbeau – is aware of issues ( Chair of Operations Committee)
Chad Odnokon
Joseph Palmateer – another commitment
Michael Vagnini
Dan Xilon

Ward 3
Jesse Gaudet
Gerry Germain Montpellier
Marcel Monpellier

Ward 4
Francois Couture
Evelyn Dutirsac
Paul Lefebvre – already knows transit has issues

Ward 5
Joseph Berthelot
Robert Kirwan

Ward 6
Kevin Brault
André Rivest

Ward 7
Robin Auger – has motion sickness on buses
Dave Kilgour
Walter Prus

Ward 8
Michael Cullen – away on business
Kerry Latham
Gerry Perras
Al Sizer

Ward 9
Aaron Beaudry
Lin Gibson – drove to the challenge citing difficulty getting Trans Cab
Les Lisk
Wyman MacKinnon – already knows transit has issues
Will Thomson

Ward 10
Mila Wong

Ward 11
Terry Kett – health reasons – (Member of Operations Committee)
Vincent Lacroix
Lynne Reynolds

Ward 12
Tay Butt
Joscelyne Landry-Aultmann – (Member of Operations Committee)
Robert McCarthy – prior engagement
Shawn Ouimet – work




Sunday Commuter Challenge for Candidates 2014 — 2 Comments